Eggplant Lasagna

Since I am about to go into full on anti-social mode – aka season as a coach, I decided to really branch out of my crock pot zone and create an eggplant parmesan. In all honesty, my experiences with eggplant is very limited. In fact, I have never made it before today. So I went to my favorite resource, Pintrest and researched how to make eggplant – after I had already made the Eggplant Lasagna

Recipe:

Ingredients:

  • 1 eggplant, sliced into 1/2 inch pieces
  • 2 tomatoes
  • 1 container of kale
  • 3 tbsp of balsamic vinaigrette
  • 5 tbsp of olive oil
  • 1 piece of vegan mozzarella cheese
  • garlic powder

 

Preheat the oven to 425, and put the sliced eggplant covered with olive oil and garlic powder into the oven for 15 minutes. (I did not do this, and I very much regret it. My eggplant was very tough and needed more time to cook. So next time I will precook the eggplant).

While the eggplant is in the oven, slice the tomatoes, and rinse the kale. Once out of the oven, in a pan about 9″ x 9″, layer your sliced eggplant, then tomato and then kale and repeat. Once you have reached the top part of your pan, evenly pour on your balsamic vinaigrette across the towers. Then put on your mozzarella and cover with tin foil. Let the whole dish sit for a few hours in the fridge. (This is not necessary, but what I had to do because I had to go to work that day. Otherwise you can pop it straight into the oven).

Put the dish in the oven at 425 for 15 minutes with the tin foil on. Then remove the tin foil, and broil the dish for 2 – 5 minutes so the cheese melts and get a bit brown. Serve hot.

Review:

Since I straight up had no idea how to make eggplant, I would say my dish was a bit al dente. My friends disagreed and said it was great. But I think they say that so I keep making them food. I want to make this dish again, but with having the eggplant actually cooked through.

The Nitty Gritty:

  • Total Cost: $10.00
  • Total Time: 50 minutes, 10 minutes prep, 40 minutes cooking. Longer if you let the dish chill in the fridge
  • Serving Size: 6 – 8 pieces
Leave a Reply

