Christmas Dinner Part 3: Chicken Korma 

This dish proved to be the most difficult dish to cook, with way more time than I allowed per usual. I really thought that this time I had read the recipe enough to know how much time was needed. But nope. Per usual, that did not happen. Instead, I made it work. (Thanks Tom Gunn).

Recipe: 

Ingredients:

For chicken:

  • 3 lbs. chicken thighs and breast
  • 2 tsp. Olive oil
  • 2 tbsp. Garam  masala 
  • 2 tbsp. Curry powder
  • 1/2 tsp. of salt
  • 1/2 tsp. Black pepper

For sauce

  • 2 white onions
  • 6 cloves of garlic minced
  • 4 tsp. Curry powder
  • 2 tsp. Turmeric
  • 2 tsp. Garam masala
  • 1 tsp. Ground coriander
  • 1 tsp. Salt
  • 1 tsp. Black pepper
  • 1/2 tsp. Ground cardamom
  • 1/2 tsp. Nutmeg
  • 1/2 tsp. Ground cloves
  • 1/2 tsp. Cumin
  • 3 tbsp. Olive oil 
  • 3 large tomatoes diced
  • 2 tbsp. Fresh ginger
  • 1/2 cup ground almonds
  • 1 cup unsweetened canned coconut milk
  • 1 1/2 cup nonfat Greek yogurt 
  • 1/2 small chile
  • 1 tbsp. Brown sugar

To prep for this dish I again had all of the spices ore made before the trip to the mountains, which was a huge time saver and great for blending everything together. As instructed, this time I actually put the chicken in the fridge with the spices over night to really let the chicken soak up the flavor. I would love to use these spices again on chicken in general. Actually, the only spice I think that I really like is Garam Masala. I think I just want that spice on everything!

After the chicken marinated, I cooked the chicken in a skillet and olive oil for about 10 minutes, just until cooked. I removed the chicken off of skillet pan, and reduce the heat to medium, where I sautéed the onion, tomatoes and garlic. Once those had browned a little bit, I added the spices, and everything else. I let that all simmer for 15 minutes (it was suppose to be 30, but I did not have that kind of time). I then put in my bite size pieces of chicken into the sauce, almost  causing for the whole pan to overflow. Well it kind of did while I let the whole thing simmer for about 5 minutes before I served the whole dish with Nann (1/2 cup gluten free flower, 1/2 cup ground almonds, 1 cup coconut milk and cooked like a pancake). 

  

Review:

The better of the two dishes, and much better the next day. In fact, I really wish I had let it simmer the full time to get the full flavor! It was good, not as creamy as the restaurant style, but good none the less. The chicken tiki masala from last year was better, but I am glad I made this dish and I’d try it again!

The Nitty Gritty:

  • Total Cost: ??? Thanks Mom and Dad
  • Total Time: 15 prep, 45 cooking – 1 hour
  • Serving size: 6 – 12 dishes 
Leave a Reply

