Christmas Dinner Part 2: Vegetable Vindaloo

So the story of making Christmas Dinner continues, and most of this I did without the help of my Sous Chef. I decided to take a meat recipe – this Chicken Vindaloo Recipe and make it vegetarian style by only cooking veggies. However, I learned along the way that I definitely need to do a few things differently.

Recipe:

Ingredients: 

  • 1 head of broccoli cut up
  • 1 head of cauliflower cut up
  • 1 potato
  • 1 onion
  • 1 container of mushrooms
  • 1 cup of frozen peas
  • 3 tbsp. vinegar
  • 3 garlic cloves
  • 1 1/2 tbsp. fresh ginger grated
  • 3/4 tbsp. curry powder
  • 1 tbsp. ground cumin
  • 1/4 tsp. ground cardamom
  • 1/4 tsp. ground cloves
  • 1/4 tsp. ground hot pepper
  • 1 tbsp. mustard seeds
  • 2 tbsp. olive oil
  • 1 cup tomato sauce (I ended up adding closer to 2 cups)
  • 1 cinnamon stick

The major Uh-oh of this recipe was when I read for how long the crock pot was suppose to be on with the chicken, I needed 5 hours at low and I only had 3 hours before I wanted dinner on the table. So I quickly put all of my veggies (I had them pre-cut) into the crock pot with all of the spices, olive oil and tomato sauce. I had pre-measured out the spices, which turned out to be a blessing, because there were so many spices, and the grocery store in the mountain town I was staying in had a limited selection. Also, having the meal pre-blended helped in even distributing the spices.

As the crock pot went to work on my veggies, I realized I was going to need to put the crock pot on high for the 3 hours. However, I was worried if the vegetables would cook enough to be almost steamed and edible. What I learned, is no. That also may have been due to the part that 1.5 hours in, I turned the crock pot to low and added 1 extra cup of tomato sauce. I’m not sure. Maybe I really did need the 5 hours on low to cook it all. Next time, so my vegetable vindaloo is not so crunchy, I plan on steaming my vegetables before and actually cooking the dish for the whole time the recipe recommended. Whoopsies.

Review:

I liked this dish, but again the vegetables were very crunchy. However, I really like the pairing of the vegetables with the spices. Also, I think I need more time with the crock pot. People liked the dish, and the spices made it better the next day. The longer the vegetables sit in the sauce the better.

The Nitty Gritty:

  • Total Cost: No idea – Thanks Mom and Dad!
  • Total Time: 45 minutes to prep, 3 hours to cook. 3.75 hours.
  • Serving Size: 6 – 12 people
Leave a Reply

