Egg and Veggie Bacon Baskets

When I was left alone for a weekend, I got to cooking. And by cooking, I mean making way to much food for just one person. My biggest accomplishment of the weekend were inspired by these bacon baskets. Truthfully, I found making these challenging and time consuming, but I was also crafting away working on my Christmas gifts for my family, so the breaks helped to keep me on track with my other project of the weekend.

Recipe:

Ingredients:

  • 1 package of bacon
  • 1 carton of small or medium eggs (Large will not work for this dish)
  • 4 mushrooms
  • 1/2 onion
  • 1/2 cup of spinach

With few ingredients, one would think little challenge. False. The first coming in cooking the bacon so that it is halfway cooked so you can bend it around the inside of a cupcake pan, but not so raw that it will not cook through later nor burn. This seems like a very detailed explanation, I still found the idea very vague, probably because until this year I had never made bacon. However, once I had successfully fried my bacon on a skillet and let it cool on a paper towel, then came the process of making a basket.

I used some coconut oil, and sprayed the heck out of the muffin pan, because I really did not want to have a broken yolk on me when it came to getting these baskets out of the case. When it came to making the bacon baskets, I found one strip could be the outside, where as about two small pieces of bacon made the bottom. I put the bottoms on first, and then the bacon around the edge.

With the baskets made, I put in my sauteed mushrooms, onions and spinach in the bottom of the basket. I topped the basket with an egg. The most difficult part of putting the eggs in was ensuring that it did not cause an overflow. Stopping the eggs whites from overflowing became a really fun game for myself. Just use your eyes.

Then I put the cupcake pan in the oven at 375 for 12 minutes.

  
Review:

Since I ate a majority of them, in fact all of them. I will say – very good indeed! I would love to make these again for a brunch (since it was relatively painless and I now know how to make bacon halfway cooked). Also, I would love to try this made with scrambled eggs instead of the eggs baked.

The Nitty Gritty:

  • Total Cost: $20.00 – for all fresh produce, eggs and bacon
  • Total time: 30 minutes prep, 12 minutes cooking. 45 minutes total
  • Serving Size: 12 Bacon Baskets

 

Leave a Reply

