Apple Turnovers (Or Pancake Dessert Like things with Apples)

During the fall, we (as in my friends and I, not me, myself and I) made a trip to an apple orchard. Living in the midwest, this adventure had been a goal of mine for about 8 years – which was finally completed! Afterwards, my apartment had more apples than we knew what to do with, so my roommate and I turned to Pinterest – the greatest, most addictive website ever – to find creative ways to solve the problem of having way more than an apple a day in the apartment.

Also, during the fall, the tradition of Girl’s Nights was re-instated – and my roommate had taken on and mastered the creation of main dishes – so I went to work on desserts. That is when I found this dessert of Apple Turnovers Paleo Style. (I am not Paleo because it is a fad. I am Paleo because it is gluten free and dairy free which has become my diet – stating that now so when the haters hate, they feel guilty.)

IMG_4997
Instagram: Making everyone look like a professional photographer.
Recipe:

Ingredients:

Pancake part:

  • ½ cup almond flour
  • ¾ cup arrow root (I have no idea what this is – but my roommate had it, so it was used)
  • 1 cup fat-free, unsweetened coconut milk
  • 2 egg whites
  • ½ cup water
  • pinch salt

 

Filling:

  • 2 apples, skinned and chopped fine (any type will do!)
  • 3 TBSP coconut oil
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 4 tsp pure maple syrup
  • dash salt

Let’s just start with the list of ingredients – I have no idea what arrow root is, but we had that and not tapioca flour – so it was used. Also, when I was at the store/looking at making this recipe, I saw coconut milk. We always have some in the fridge, so I didn’t even think twice about it. The recipe calls for full fat coconut milk. I have nonfat coconut milk. That happened. And this does affect the consistency of the pancakes – so I skimmed on the water, only adding 1/4 of cup.

Creating the batter for the pancake was very simple, mix it all together. Then you make the pancakes like you make a crepe. Fun facts – make sure that you can get a spatula – or whatever kitchen utensil you want to use- under neath the pancake to flip it. You only need a little bit of batter, less than 1/4 of a cup to make a crepe, otherwise it is way to thick and is in fact a pancake. Spray the pan well and repeatedly. (Please all – learn from my mistakes. I lost two pancakes to both of these issues). I sprayed my pan with coconut oil only for one pancake. By the time the second one was on the pan, the sticking of the pancake made it a fail. Let’s just say the phrase “Pancake down!” was used multiple times throughout this process of making the dessert. The pancakes only need about 1 – 2 minutes per a side on the pans at med-high heat.

Once the pancakes are out, put the filling in it right away and fold over. If the pancakes get cold, they loose their stickiness that holds the edges together. So as one pancake is completed, fill and fold over and pinch edges together, creating something like a hot pocket. The filling should be made previous to making pancakes, so it is ready to be spooned into the pancakes.

Once you have created your turnovers, comes the “fun part” of frying them. I say “fun” because the reality is you will get burned with oil. Fill up your pan with enough coconut oil to fry in it. Then “gently” place the turnover into the oil, and keep it there for about 2 minutes, flip and repeat. DO NOT THROW THE TURNOVER IN AND TRY TO JUMP OUT OF THE WAY OF THE OIL. You will only hurt yourself more/this is very dangerous. Then take the turnover out, place on a paper owl and let dry. Try to serve within a few minutes.

I topped my turnovers with a little bit of cinnamon (my apartment is obsessed with this spice) and a drizzle of maple syrup (I have a sweet tooth – #nojudgmentsplease).

Review:

Huge success! Everyone loved them. I did not enjoy making them, only because I made a very large mess and I kept burning myself. But I would attempt to make these again, and hopefully “learn” from my mistakes.

The Nitty Gritty:

  • Total Cost: $10.00 – we had most items at home
  • Total Time: 40 minutes – getting the skillet to the right heat, not burning myself and burning myself took some time – actual cooking time: 20 minutes
  • Serving Size: 10 turnovers
Leave a Reply

