Cheesevat!

I decided that I needed a snack for girl’s night and wanted to make cheese dip. However, I was having trouble finding a dip that would fulfill the requirements of vegetarian and gluten free, so I had to revamp another version of cheese dip.

Recipe:

Ingredients:

  • 2 (16-ounce) cans refried beans
  • 1 (4.5-ounce) can chopped green chiles
  • 1 cup salsa (this was eyeballed)
  • 1 teaspoon oregano
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1 bottle of gluten free beer
  • 12 oz of blanco cheese Velveta
  • 24 oz of cheese Velveta

As I stated earlier, the challenge with this recipe was making sure that it was gluten free and vegetarian. So when I was at the store, I had to search the shelves for beans that are in fact vegetarian. Did any one know that most beans are cooked in bacon? I only found this out after searching through all the cans in the store to find the very selective/one version of vegetarian beans.

Then came the beer issue, I had to use gluten free beer. The major issue I have with gluten free beer is that most of it tastes horrible. In fact, I actually prefer not to drink gluten free beer because I don’t like the taste that much. Instead, I stick to ciders and wine. I ended up using a bottle of Omission – Lager, the only gluten free beer that I actually enjoy.

Cooking/making the cheese dip was pretty easy, expect for the fact that I ended up forgetting the salsa, and I had to run home for it (I was making the dip at work). First I put in the refried beans, green chilies, oregano, cumin, and garlic powder in the crockpot while it was on warm. Then after running home and grabbing the salsa (both mild and hot), I added the salsa (about 1/2 cup of mild and 1/2 cup of hot), bottle of beer, and cheese. The original recipe called for a Progresso Four Cheese Recipe Starter, but I could not find these at the store, so I went with the typical version of cheese dip: Velveta. Because the original recipe called for a Four Cheese mix, I decided to mix all of the types of Velveta cheese that were present at the store, cheese blanco and regular Velveta. Once that was all stirred, I set the crockpot on low for 2 hrs.

While the cheese dip was blending together, I was working so I could only stir the cheese dip every 45 minutes instead of every 20 minutes. Some of the cheese turned to be a little bit more burned, especially around the top/edges. Because the crockpot was on low, the amount of burnt cheese was quickly removed before serving.

Review:

Delicious! Personally, I am not a fan of Velveta, so this cheese dip is not my favorite, but was overall a crowd favorite. I would make this dip again, if I could add some chili to it. It was a little bit too bland for me.

The Nitty Gritty:

  • Total Cost: $12.00
  • Total time: 10 minutes prep, 2 hrs cooking. 2.1 hours
  • Serving Size: 20 + people
Leave a Reply

