Shredded Chicken for Twenty

As a coach,I find myself making enough food for a crowd at least once a season and my go-to dish are tacos. For a previous team, I made multiple types of meats, but for this team I made only chicken, and enough for 20 people to eat as a pre-game meal. This is the moment that I really do appreciate my crockpot, because I could prep the meal throughout the day and I had the meat cooking by 10 am.

I followed a recipe, but adapted it to fit my needs of cooking 10 lbs of chicken in three crockpots.

Recipe:

Ingredients:

(This is serving size for one crockpot – I made 3)

  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 4 garlic cloves, minced
  • 2 tbsp chili powder
  • 2 tsp cumin
  • 1 tsp paprika
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp pepper
  • 1/4 tsp oregano
  • 2/3 cup crushed tomatoes
  • 4 boneless skinless chicken breasts

When cooking for a large group, one needs to have an idea about how much that group can eat. When cooking for a sports team, just assume they can eat. I ended up using this recipe for each one of the crockpots I made, and the proportions varied in each crockpot.

I decided to make it so each crockpot had its own level of spiciness, or so I thought. In the first crockpot, I followed the recipe to a tee. Mixing 2 tbsp chili powder, 2 tsp cumin, 1 tsp paprika as my major spices. In the second crockpot, the chili powder got away from me and I accidentally ended up putting in much closer to 3.5 tbsp of chili powder, 2 tsp of cumin and about 2 tsp of paprika. In the last crockpot, I put in 2.5 tbsp of chili powder, 2 tsp cumin and 1.5 tsp of paprika. Honestly, I don’t really think that there were any differences in the spices of each crockpot, but hey at least I tried. All of the other spice measurements stayed the same, as well as the onion (I used sweet onions, relatively small) and garlic.

Now when it came to cooking it all, I will be honest and admit that yet again I did not read the directions so instead of sautéing the onions and garlic before putting them in, I just threw everything in the crockpot and let it cook for 6 hrs on low and the chicken just fell apart with the help of a fork.

The original recipe called for putting the chicken in the crockpot with the tomato sauce, and then for the last hour adding in the spices, onions and garlic. I think my method of mixing it all together and letting it cook for 6 hrs made it more flavorful, but I can’t really compare the two considering I didn’t make the chicken the original way.

Review:

The team loved it and devoured the chicken. I even got some request to do some catering from the girls (all in good fun). I later made the left over chicken into a nice breakfast of scramble eggs, chicken, homemade guacamole on a tortilla. This chicken is bomb and will be lasting me through the week. SUCCESS!

The Nitty Gritty:

  • Total Cost: $45.00 – for 10 lbs of chicken
  • Total Time: 30 minutes to prep, 6 hrs of cooking – 6.5 hrs in total
  • Serving Size: 22 people with each having 2 tacos
Leave a Reply

