BBQ Pulled Chicken

After 3 weeks of straight pork, I decided that it was time for some chicken. That’s when I found “The Best Crockpot BBQ Chicken,” and really wanted to give it a try. Unfortunately, the day got away from me and I kept the chicken in there a little bit too long. Regardless, the meal still tasted delicious when I paired the chicken with coleslaw and potatoes (baked and broiled with some seasoning).

Recipe:

Ingredients:

  • 1 tbsp Worcestershire sauce
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup Zesty Italian dressing
  • 1 cup  BBQ sauce
  • Salt to taste
  • 2 lbs boneless, skinless chicken breasts

This recipe was very straightforward. The hardest part: finding everything to be gluten free. Grocery shopping took the longest time, because not all BBQ sauce and Italian dressings are gluten free. I probably spent about 20 minutes looking at the labels just trying to make sure that what I did end up buying was 2 things: 1) gluten free and 2) not extremely expensive. Now, while I was grocery shopping, I remembered that I had some chicken breasts at home so I didn’t buy any – mistake!

The recipe called for 2 lbs of boneless, skinless chicken breasts, and apparently in my freezer were only 1.29 lbs of chicken. I think this made the chicken to sauce ratio a bit off, but in the end I don’t think that it was a big issue, because I left the chicken and the sauce in the crockpot for close to 6 hrs instead of the 4 hrs that the recipe originally stated.

Review:

The chicken was a bit dry, and the sauce was a bit burnt from being in the crockpot for way too long. The group consensus was that it was good, but for sure over cooked. Next time, I will cook it for less time and find a gluten free bun to make it with. The coleslaw was a nice pairing, but needed more flavor so instead of mayo, I recommend putting in ranch or celery seed. Also, next time I would cook the potatoes on the skillet, instead of in the oven.

Leave a Reply

