Citrus Taco Chicken

After last week’s successful shredded pork tacos, I decided I wanted to do tacos again this week for lunch. Instead of going with a traditional chicken taco mix though, I found this recipe which gives a different take on the traditional chicken mix by having some oranges and lime juice.

Recipe:

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 pounds boneless and skinless chicken thighs
  • 2 oranges – squeezed so it’s just the juice
  • 2 limes – squeezed so it’s just the juice
  • 4 cloves garlic, chopped
  • 1 tablespoon chili powder
  • 1 teaspoon cumin
  • 1 teaspoon oregano
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon pepper

Overall, this was a very smooth recipe that I literally threw together and let cook. After prepping the chicken (removing any and all excess fat), I put it in the crockpot. Then I squeezed two oranges worth of juice into the crockpot. Now squeezing fruit is much more of an activity than I thought. Honestly, it took me a couple of minutes per each half of orange just to make sure I got all of the juice out of it without using a machine. The limes, now that’s a different story.

Did you know that limes can dry out? I don’t know if scientifically it can, but one of my limes would not squeeze out juice. I had to squeeze out each individual part of the lime. This took forever, and not a lot of juice came out of the lime. In fact, maybe a teaspoon worth of juice from each half.  I literally felt like I was trying to squeeze out a baseball or something. Nothing was working. So I think that this recipe could have had more of a citrus/lime flavor, if I didn’t have one dried out lime (I only had two limes and I didn’t want to go back to the store for another one, so I just made it work).

The rest of the recipe went down without any issues. Minced garlic, (not chopped because I didn’t read the recipe right), chili powder, cumin, oregano (leafy oregano because I don’t know what the difference is between oregano and leafy oregano), salt and pepper. I put the crockpot on low for 6 hrs, but after 5 hrs the house smelled too good to not check on the recipe and the chicken was ready.

For the last step, I separated the chicken and put it on a baking sheet. Then I poured 1/4 cup of juice onto the chicken and put it in the oven under the broil for 5 minutes. Then I flipped the chicken, poured 1/4 more cup of juice over the chicken and put it back under the broiler for 5 minutes. Then I put the chicken in a container with 1/4 more of a cup of juice. The product – a nice and juicy chicken option for tacos.

Review:

A good chicken mix with tacos. The hint of citrus is really nice, and pairs well with some orange bell peppers, red onions, avocado, cheese and cilantro. I enjoyed it! I will be making this again for chicken taco mix because it did not require a pre-made taco mix, making it cleaner and more natural (because one can control how much salt goes into the mix).

The Nitty Gritty:

  • Total Cost: $23.00
  • Total Time: 15 minutes to prep, 5 hrs to cook, 15 minutes to crisp – 5.5 hrs.
  • Serving Size: 12 – 16 tacos (at 2 tacos per a person) so 6 – 8 tacos.

IMG_0025
The final Product, crispy chicken tacos.

Leave a Reply

