Taco Carnitas

In preparation for the week, I decided to make meat that I could mix with different things all week – carnitas (or pork).The recipe I picked out made enough pork to last for days worth of leftovers, which is great since I haven’t had time to cook much this week. Also, this recipe requires more than just using the crockpot, upping the level of difficulty.

Recipe:

Ingredients:

  • 1 Tbsp. canola or vegetable oil
  • 1 (3.5 lb.) lean boneless pork roast, excess fat trimmed, cut into 3-inch chunks
  • 8 oz. beer
  • 1 large white onion, diced
  • 4 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/2 Tbsp. paprika
  • 1/2 Tbsp. cayenne pepper
  • 2 tsp. cumin
  • 1 tsp. chili powder
  • 1 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1 tsp. black pepper

First thing first. The original recipe calls for 1 Tbsp. of chipotle powder, but apparently I didn’t have it, so I made my own. What I didn’t realize at the time was that chipotle powder comes from chili’s, dried out, crunched up chili peppers, so instead what I really made was more chili powder, not chipotle powder. Whoopsies!

I cut up the pork into 3 inch pieces then browned the pork. Using the 1 tbsp of oil, I browned the pork for about 3 – 4 minutes on each side. While the pork was browning, I cut up the onion into diced pieces and minced the 4 big pieces of garlic. I put all of this into the crockpot. To be honest, there was a lot of pork in my crockpot. I am not sure I could have fit anymore, even though the original recipe called for 4 – 5 pounds of meat.

IMG_1273

Before 6 hrs in the crockpot.

Next came all of the spices, including the blend I made myself. Then I let the pork sit for 6 hrs on low after mixing in the spices, garlic and onion.

Once the pork was ready, I pulled about 1/4th of it out, pulled it a part with fork (it fell apart without even trying), and then put it on an aluminum covered baking sheet. After putting some juice on it, I put it under the broiler in the oven for about 5 minutes. The original recipe called for it go through it twice, but after the first time through the boiler, the pork was really crispy and ready to eat. I ended up making about 1/4th of the pork this way, and left the rest in the juice to eat for the rest of week, letting the pork soak in all of the juice for the rest of the week.

IMG_1274-0

After 6 hrs in the crockpot and broiled to a crisp.

Review:

Really good, and makes enough pork for the week. The pork has a really nice kick to it, but I do wonder what the kick would have been like had it been chipotle powder instead of a mix of paprika and cayenne pepper. I would make this again! Everyone liked the dish who had it!

The Nitty Gritty:

  • Total Cost: $24.00 – the pork was the most expensive
  • Total time: 25 minutes for prep, 6 hrs for the crockpot, 10 minutes for after prep – 6 hrs and 35 minutes total
  • Serving Size: 10 – 14 people
Leave a Reply

