Honey Garlic Chicken

I have slowly but surely been working my way down this list from the Huffington Post. Now, this dish is something I threw together in a short amount time. Instead of giving it the full day to cook, I made this dish in 2 hours and as my friend told me, it was still amazing. We are literally obsessed with this Honey Garlic Chicken and trying to think of when we can make it again since we both liked it so much and found it very filling.

Recipe:

Ingredients:

  • 3 large bone-in, skinless chicken breasts (2 1/2 to 3 pounds total)
  • 1/2 cup honey
  • 1/2 cup low sodium gluten-free soy sauce
  • 1/4 cup blackberry jam
  • 1/4 cup hoisin sauce
  • 2 Tablespoons olive oil
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 Tablespoon of corn starch
  • 3 Tablespoons of cold water

This whole recipe began with the grocery shopping. Finding bone in skinless chicken breast turned out to be an adventure in and of itself. I was able to found the bone-in chicken breasts with skin, so that’s what I bought. Next came finding hoisin sauce. I had no idea what that was, so I began my search in the salad dressing aisle, before using my Google machine to learn that it is a spice used in Asian food which made my search much easier in the store. Then came the blackberry jam. Here is one thing that I have never fully understood: what is the difference between jam and jelly? On the shelf in the store, jam was more expensive than the jelly, and because the recipe called for jam I bought the blackberry jam. However, is there any difference?

The cooking/making the meal part was very easy. After removing the skin from the chicken breasts, I placed them in the bottom of the crockpot and put it on high. Then I whisked together the honey, soy sauce, hoisin sauce, olive oil and garlic and put it on top of the chicken.

After two hours on high (the original recipe calls for 4 – 5 hours on low), the chicken was moist and had cooked all the way through. At this point, the only mistake I made at this point, was that I didn’t think to separate the chicken breasts to allow for the sauce to get in between the breasts and to really soak the meat. Looking back at the original recipe, I realize that the author stated that the chicken breasts should not be touching. There was simply not enough room in my crockpot for that to happen, so next time I will simply lift up a breast to let the sauce reach all parts of the chicken. In the end, the lack of the evenness of the sauce really did not matter because I poured the thickened sauce over the chicken.

After removing the chicken from the sauce, came the shredding of the chicken. The easiest method I found to do this was to use two forks and to pull the chicken apart. This took more time than I anticipated, so I kept the sauce in the crockpot on high for longer than anticipated. The sauce remained very soupy throughout the whole crockpot/cooking process, so after removing the chicken I combined the sauce with 1 tablespoon of cornstarch and 3 tablespoons of water in a saucepan at medium heat. Once the sauce had thickened (after about 10 minutes of stirring it in the saucepan), I poured it over the shredded chicken and the quinoa (what we, my friend and I, had decided to serve it over). The original recipe called for green onions and sesame seeds, and honestly I forgot those, but the dish was still delicious.

2015/01/img_1249-0.jpg
The finished product!

Review:

AMAZING! That was all my friend could say. We have been texting non-stop about when we can make it again and who else we can make it for. Yes, it is that good. Everyone make it now! A real crowd pleaser!

The Nitty Gritty:

  • Total Cost: $20.00
  • Total Time: 30 minutes prep, 2 hrs in the crock pot, 30 minutes to shred the chicken/thicken the sauce – so 3 hours total
  • Serving Size: 4 people
    1/2 cup diced onion
    1/4 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes (optional)
    1 Tablespoon cornstarch
Leave a Reply

