Vanilla and Brown Sugar Granola

I had only heard of granola being made by cooking it in the oven on cookie sheets, but then I came across this recipe and I knew I had to attempt to make it. My only reference for granola is the kind of granola you put on greek yogurt, so a little but more clumpy than not. Before beginning the recipe, I read through the recipe and realized there was a disclosure: the granola didn’t really clump unless there were loads of honey and butter aka loads of sugar. So knowing that, I did not expecting this granola to be very “clumpy.”

Recipe:

Ingredients:

  • 5 cup gluten free oats
  • 1/2 cup of honey
  • 1/2 cup melted butter
  • 1 tablespoon flax seeds
  • 1/4 cup slivered almonds
  • 1/4 cup raw pumpkin seeds
  • 1/4 cup raw sunflower seeds
  • 1/2 cup of raisins
  • 3 tablespoons of vanilla
  • 1/8 cup of brown sugar

Making the granola proved to be a very simple task. Fist I mixed the oats, flax seeds, slivered almonds, raw pumpkin seeds, raw sunflower seeds and raisins in the crockpot. Then I added the honey, and then the microwaved melted 1/2 cup of butter. The original recipe calls for 1/4 cup of unsweetened coconut, but I do not like coconut, so instead I put in about 3 tablespoons of vanilla and 1/8 cup of brown sugar. Then I stirred it all together, making sure that all of the oats and ingredients were fully mixed.

I had been warned previously that granola can burn easily in the crockpot, so for the 3.5 hours I had the crockpot on high, I would stir every 30 minutes. This tip was a great one, because the original recipe said to stir the crockpot occasionally, but had I done it any less the granola would have been really badly burnt. During the last 30 minutes of cooking, I actually wished I had stirred the crockpot every 15 minutes because at the end of 30 the granola was a bit burnt.

Next, I put the granola on two cookies sheets with paper towels. The original recipe called for parchment paper, but we didn’t have anything like that in my house, so I just assumed paper towels would be the same. Not true. The paper towels acted a bit as an adhesive, so some (not a lot) granola ended up sticking to the paper towels. I lost some granola this way. I also kept the granola out over night, when I think you were only suppose to let the granola cool, so about an hour or two, but I do not believe that this affected the finish product.

Review:

This recipe makes a lot of granola. I have one box/Tupperware container of granola and 4 sandwich Ziploc bags I ended up giving to friends. Even though some of the granola burned at the end, I still liked the recipe but I do wish it clumped more. Instead, this batch is much more like a cereal then clumpy granola. I will for sure be make this again as granola is a great snack option.

The Nitty Gritty:

  • Total Cost: $15.00
  • Total Time: 15 minutes to prep, 3.5 hrs to cook, 2 hrs to cool so 5.75 hrs in total
  • Serving Size: A lot! I’m not sure how to measure this as I didn’t measure how many cups/have a set serving size.
Leave a Reply

