Honey Apple Cinnamon Pork

When I lived in Chicago is when the whole crock pot blog began, so it only seemed fitting that upon my return I cook another crockpot. Now, I really can’t take much credit for this recipe or even the production foo making it as one of my old roommates really did the hard work of finding this recipe, buying the materials and really making it into our own. Shockingly, my old roommate is probably the reason that this recipe went so smoothly. In fact, I know it is the reason it went so smoothly, because the only part that was messed up was the part I did.

Recipe:

Ingredients:

– 4 lbs pork tenderloin
– 3 thinly sliced Granny Smith apples
– 1 full onion sliced thinly
– 2 tbsp of ground cinnamon
– 1/2 cup of honey (this was eyeballed, so give or take a little bit)
– 8 cinnamon sticks

So when I arrived in Chicago, I was given the star treatment. My roommate had bought all of the ingredients needed for recipe, included a few additional ones that really made the dish (ie. the onion and the cinnamon sticks). It is a well known fact that I have difficulties cutting onions aka I have to wear goggles because my eyes water so much, so my old roommate took one for the team and she cut up the onion to put in the bottom of the crock pot. I should also note that we had a full day planned ahead of us, so she and I were doing all of this at 7:30 am on a Saturday morning. This turned out to be a great decision as this dish does take the full 8 hrs on low that it says in the recipe. (And this is why reading the full instructions is so important. It really does make it all easier in there end).

So while one of us was cutting the onion, I cut up all the apples in thin slices. Some of these pieces of apples went into the bottoms of the crock pot while other went into the slits that were cut into the pork tenderloin.Now, for some reason I thought that the slits shown on the example pork tenderloin were cut horizontally. Nope. I was suppose to cut the slits vertically or diagonally if I really wanted to make it look good. So there was the mess up of the recipe, and all because I couldn’t remember how the slits were suppose to look. Paying attention to details is important.

So, after putting all of the slices in the pork tenderloin and filling them with apples, the bottom of the crock pot was covered with honey. Now, both my old roommate and I found this a bit weird as we thought that the honey should go over the pork tenderloin, but no. The honey went over the apples on the bottom of the crock pot. Then came the pork tenderloins with the rest of the slices of apples on top. Lastly came the sprinkling of the ground cinnamon over the top of the whole crockpot and the addition of cinnamon sticks through out the whole dish. After that, let the low heat do the rest for 8 hours.

IMG_1071.JPG
Before the pork was cooked.

Review:

The dish was very good, very festive for this time of year, and the pork just fell apart at the end of the 8 hrs. The only criticism some had was that it is a sweeter dish. But, yes I would make this dish again as it was very good. Maybe next time I can get the slits right.

The Nitty Gritty:
– Total Cost: $40.00 (the pork was the most expensive part)
– Total time: 30 minutes prep, 8 hrs cooking. 8.5 hrs
– Serving size: 15 people

Leave a Reply

