Spinach Artichoke Dip

Tis the season of parties and gatherings, so this dish was made for a small gathering of friends. While trying to figure out what I wanted to bring, I talked to my friends and some of them were bringing buffalo chicken dip or cookies. I decided I would bring spinach artichoke dip because a) I haven’t had it in a while, and I wanted it, and b) I was pretty sure you can make it in a crock pot. Turns out spinach artichoke dip isn’t a crock pot specific dish, and you can make it many different ways. This recipe turned out to be pretty darn good, but really was no competitor for the amazing buffalo chicken dip made by my friend.

Recipe:

Ingredients:

  • 12 oz of frozen spinach
  • 1 14oz can of artichoke hearts
  • 16 oz of light cream cheese (cubed)
  • 2 1/2 cups monterey jack cheese (cubed)
  • 2 1/2 cups mozzarella cheese (cubed)
  • 5 cloves of garlic minced
  • 3 large dashes of black pepper

The big reason I chose this recipe was because it looked really easy and you could adapt everything to be light or “healthier” (more like less calories). So the first thing I must admit is that while grocery shopping, the original recipe called for 1 lb. of frozen spinach. Now while shopping for frozen spinach I could only fine descriptions of how much the spinach weighs. Instead, I would lift a bag and guess if that was equal to a pound or not. Twelve ounces felt about right slash equal to a pound, so that is the amount that I grabbed.

During the prep time, cutting the cheese and the cream cheese proved easy and more time consuming than I thought. The recipe calls for the cheese to go into the crock pot first and then turn it on high, which was easy to follow. But the cutting of the spinach, (which was supposed to be thawed and apparently I just did not read that part right, so it went in frozen) and draining and chopping the artichokes took a lot longer than I thought. This lead for the cheese to melt and some burn to the side. After that I realized that you need to stir the pot pretty frequently to prevent the cheese from sticking to the sides. Then came the garlic. The original recipe called for 3 cloves of garlic, but that didn’t seem like enough garlic. I like garlic, so I thought I would go a little bit heavier on the minced garlic, which for sure worked in my favor. Then just some dashes of black pepper, and boom – all done.

Review:

This dish was good, even better on the second day. It was no comparison to my friend buffalo chicken dip (I will have to get her to write up her recipe), but still a good option. I would for sure make this again for a dinner party or a get together. The dish just needed more garlic!

The Nitty Gritty:

  • Total Cost: $15.00
  • Total Time: 20 minutes prep and 2 hrs for cooking on high, 30 minutes on low – 2 hrs and 50 minutes
  • Serving Size: 10 – 12 people
Leave a Reply

