Jambalaya Part 2

So, while I was home over vacation, one of my friends told me how he enjoys reading my blog and I realized that I have let it fall to the wayside. Well I am only home for a few days, so I decided it was time to get cooking and one dish I had really liked previously was jambalaya. This dish I must admit that this recipe is even better then the first one, and with more improvisations (not on purpose but because I didn’t read the whole entire recipe through, which in case you didn’t know has really become apparent to me that I need to start reading the recipe completely through before I start cooking. I would save my self a lot of uh-ohs in the process). So here it is, jambalaya part 2:

Recipe:

Ingredients:

  • ~ 1 lb of chicken tenders (I bought 2.18 lbs, but I think I only put in around 1 lb or 5 thighs)
  • 14 oz of smoked turkey sausage (I don’t eat beef)
  • 1 large green bell pepper chopped into small pieces
  • 1/2 of white onion
  • 1 large can (28 oz) of crushed tomatoes
  • 1 cup of gluten free chicken broth
  • 1/2 cup of white cooking wine (I couldn’t find nor do I know what dry wine is)
  • 2 tsp. dried leaf oregano
  • 2 tsp. dried parsley
  • 1 tsp. cayenne pepper
  • 1/2 tsp. of paprika, 1/2 tsp. sea salt, 1/2 tsp. of black pepper, 1/2 tsp. italian seasoning, dash of cumin, multiple dashes of garlic powder, and dash of coriander (I was suppose to use cajun sauce, but I didn’t have any, so I added my own spices).
  • 1 lb. of cooked shrimp (preferably de-tailed, I did not do this and that stunk)
  • 2 cups of wild rice

To be honest, it was a pretty easy assembly. The part that took the longest was the cutting and chopping of items. I dumped the can of crushed tomatoes in, followed by the small cubes of green pepper and 1/2 of onion (I didn’t measure the onion, I just put half in because I was unaware that the recipe meant cup. I just read it as half an onion). Then came the sausage, chicken broth, and cooking wine. I ended up cutting off a lot of the fat off the thighs, before I realized that I am not suppose to be doing that. The fat was the part that made the meat a bit more juicy and flavorful, but I was trying to be healthy so whoopsies.

Then came the big oh dear moment. I went to put in all the spices, and I was doing pretty well until I came to the add cajun. That’s when I realized that I don’t have any cajun. So of course I use handy dandy google, and find that I can’t make my own cajun spice, but I have some of the essentials. So I add a majority of the essentials (hence the 1/2 tsp. of certain spices), and then I was like oh well, let’s try a dash of that and a dash of this. It was like I was a witch above her caldron.

At that point, I put the crock pot on low and let it go. After about 6 hrs, I turn back to the crock pot and add the shrimp. Remind you, I had to remove the tails from all of the shrimp (I had let the shrimp de-thaw, so there was a lot of water in the bag. De-tailing the shrimp kept the water out, but I really wish I had bought a bag of tailless shrimps). Then I added the 2 cups of wild rice. Now the recipe said wait 35 – 45 minutes. To be honest, I wasn’t that patience, so after about 30 minutes (very close to 35 mind you, not that close to 45) I got my self a serving. My lack of patience pants lead to some uncooked rice, but I was okay with that. After about 20 more minutes, I decided to have another serving and again the rice was still under cooked. Upon further reflexion, I now realize that perhaps I should have stirred the rice, because the rice at the bottom of the crock pot was nice and cooked. So note for next time (and I probably said this last time), stir the rice a few times at the end of the crock pot cycle for jambalaya.

Review:

Many of my friends had this for lunch, and we all agreed good! Really good! I will for sure be making this again as it also make a lot of servings (I will be having it for lunch all week, with servings to spare).

The Nitty- Gritty:

  • Total cost: $25.00 – the meat was the most expensive
  • Total time: 30 minutes prep + 7.5  hrs cooking = 8 hrs
  • Serving size: 8 – 10 depends on the sizes, but a lot!
Leave a Reply

