The Sweet and the Sour Ribs

So it had been a while since I created something in a crock pot, and after moving to a new place, I decided to get back into the swing of things. During the summer, everyone seems to be BBQing, but I don’t have a BBQ. So I did the next best thing, and I made ribs in a crock pot. Even the BBQ sauce was made from scratch!

(I keep forgetting to take photos, but there will be some for the next one).

Recipe:

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup gluten free all purpose flour
  • 1/3 cup water
  • 1/2 cup balsamic vinegar
  • 2 Tbsp. gluten free soy sauce
  • 1/4 cup ketchup
  • 1/2 tsp. ground ginger
  • 1/4 tsp. garlic powder
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1/8 tsp. pepper
  • 1/2 onion
  • 5 lbs of baby back ribs

So the first thing I should note is that I had no clue that spare ribs and baby back ribs are different. In fact, I didn’t even know about it till just know while I’m writing this and I realized I didn’t grab spare ribs. Whoops. That being said, making the sauce proved to be much easier than I anticipated. I used a large skillet and mixed the brown sugar and flour first. Then I added the water, balsamic vinegar, soy sauce, ketchup, ginger, and garlic powder. I then put the skillet on high and stirred until the sauce thickened. (I was really worried about botching this, so I stirred the whole time. I don’t know if it is necessary, but that’s what happened). The center thickened first, which makes sense because the center of the pan is over the hottest part of the stove top. (Yes, that is an obvious statement, but it took me a while to have that ah-ha moment). Then add the salt and pepper to give it a little bit of taste.

Next I cut the ribs into sections of 3 – 4. I put a layer of onions on the bottom of the crock pot before adding in the ribs. Each side of the ribs was covered in sauce, and a layer of onions went in between each section of ribs. I let the ribs marinate overnight, mostly because I knew how long it would take to cook the next day. After 10 hours on low, the meat fell of the bone. SUCESS!

Review:

So I was cooking for a new crew, but they all seemed pretty pleased with the ribs. I am curious as to if the sauce were to change if I used normal vinegar instead of balsamic vinegar. The meat fell right of the bone, delicious!

The Nitty Gritty:

  • Total Cost: $30.00 – ribs cost the most
  • Total Time: 10.5 hours (only 30 minutes for prep)
  • Serving Size: 8 – 10 people. (We had 6 at the dinner and I still had left overs for days). 
Leave a Reply

