Rubbed Ribs*

*This is a non crock pot dish, but due to the fact it was such a hit, I decided to publish it!

After making an awesome pulled pork earlier since blogging, I decided to make pulled pork again. The new issue became that yet again I bought the wrong piece of meat. The ribs looked very similar to the pork shoulder I was trying to buy, so now I was able to make pulled pork and ribs! The first step was to create a rub for the ribs.

Recipe:

Ingredients:
– 3 tbsp Kosher salt
– 2 tbsp chili powder
– 2 tbsp dark brown sugar
– 2 tbsp paprika
– 1 tbsp garlic powder
– 1 tsp black pepper
– dash of red flakes
– 1/4 of a bottle of BBQ sauce
– 1 onion

So I have no idea how to make ribs, and when I say no idea I mean I wasn’t even sure what a rub was. Now the first thing I learned was that I needed to cut the fat off the back of the ribs. That proved to be more difficult than I thought it would be, but in the end I won and removed the fat. Next came the rub. I was missing some ingredients from the original recipe, so what I wrote is what I put together. I ended up having a lot more rub than ribs (the rub was for meant for 5-6lbs and I only had 4lbs), so I also put the rub on the pulled pork I was making. (I used the same recipe as before, but I added the rub and that made all of the difference!!!! Everyone loved the pulled pork!!!) I then left the ribs in aluminum foil in the fridge for 36 hrs.

When it came to cooking, I am clueless as to how to cook on a grill, but I wanted to give it try. I ended up cutting up an onion and putting it under the ribs in aluminum foil as we cooked the ribs on the grill. (Our grill is not clean enough to cook directly on, so we had to use aluminum as a cover.) I then put BBQ sauce all over the ribs. I ended up cooking each side of the ribs for about 25 minutes, covered in aluminum foil so it can smoke up. I put them in the oven to sit for 3 hrs and then put the back on the grill for 10 minutes. I had some excellent help/an advisor, my friends boy friend and hi and I whipped up some awesome ribs.

20140504-213158.jpg

The whole meal. Including the amazing potatoes and ratatouille my roommates made! Photo Credit: Chelsea Lin

Review:

A HUGE HIT! Honestly, I was so surprised people really liked it. But it was honestly the hit of the party! I ended up putting BBQ sauce out for people to eat if they wanted with the ribs, and that was a great mix!

The Nitty Gritty:
-Total Cost: $28.00
-Total Time: 30 minutes of prep, 36 of marinating, and 1 hour of cooking
-Serving Size: 5 – 8 people

Leave a Reply

