Aww Fudge!

I realized that dessert has been missing from my crock pot blog, so I made fudge! Mind you this fudge is actually made to be completely paleo and can be made dairy free. Now this was a treat to make, and one of my roommates (yes, these roommates happen to make a constant appearance in my blog because they have to get to try everything) makes fudge all of the time, so we now have an alternative method to make a yummy dessert!

Recipe:

Ingredients:

  • 2 1/2 cups chocolate chips (I used Nestle Tollhouse Semi-Sweet)
  • 1/2 cup coconut milk
  • 1/8 teaspoon sea salt
  • 1/4 cup honey

The original recipe called for coconut milk from a can, however this proved to be difficult to find at the local Jewel I stopped by as I was on a time crunch. Instead, I went with coconut milk from a cardboard box. I simply shook the box and poured out the right amount of coconut milk (if you use a coconut milk can there is a lot more to it), so we could say this was change in recipe number 1. I then added the chocolate chips. I went with semi-sweet chocolate instead of milk chocolate simply because I prefer darker chocolate. This comes to change number two of the recipe. Then I added the honey. Now, because honey is a bit sticky, I believed that some of the honey got caught in the measuring cup. Sooo naturally I may have added a bit more honey – change in recipe number 3.

Before melting the chocolate!
Before melting the chocolate!

After two hours on high, I stirred in the vanilla and then let the fudge cool. The recipe called for 3 – 4 hours to cool, but I was a bit too tired, so I took the crock pot out of the heating portion and put it on the counter for 2 hrs. Change number 4. Then I stirred the fudge for 5 minutes, while the recipe called for 10 minutes. Change number 5. Then I put it in the fridge for 20 hours.

Review:

The final product after being in the fridge for 24 hrs.
The final product after being in the fridge for 24 hrs.

Now the reason I am counting the number of changes I made to the recipe is because although the fudge did turn out pretty delicious, it is not very firm. So I then put the fudge in the freezer for about an hr to make sure it became harder. But overall, pretty good and an extremely easy recipe to make. Very rich and chocolatey! I will for sure be making this for parties!

The Nitty Gritty:

  • Total Cost: $13.00
  • Total Cooking Time: 4.5 hrs before fridge – 24 hrs with refrigeration
  • Serving Size – 10 people
Leave a Reply

