Cuban Pork (without my Cuban roommate)

So this is my first attempt at Cuban and my first time eating Cuban food and let me just say – Delicious! This recipe also has the benefits of being part of weight watchers – aka low calories and healthy. However the butter cheese potatoes that went with this dish, not calorie friendly.

Recipe:
Ingredients:
– 1 lb pork tenderloin (remove excess fat)
– 2 Sweet potatoes
– 1 and a half diced canned tomatoes with green chilies (around 14.5 oz) spicey
– 2 garlic cubes
– 2 tbsp cilantro
– 2 tbsp lime juice
– 1/4 cup orange juice
– 1/4 tsp ground cumin
– 1/2 tsp salt

Now this is another recipe that should be a gimmie, but it proved otherwise. The first struggle came upon trying to find limes. For some reason, I couldn’t find limes for the life of me – so I went with lime juice that we have in the fridge from making margaritas…..slash a chaser.

The next struggle came with peeling the sweet potatoes. Yet again, I miss my peeler cause peeling sweet potatoes proved to be more challenging than normal potatoes. A lot more challenging. Maybe the potatoes weren’t ripe, but how do you know when potatoes are ripe? I will Goggle that later.

After cleaning the pork and adding that two the sweet potatoes, I added the can and a half of tomatoes with green chiles. I ended up estimating what I thought 14.5 oz were, because I couldn’t find a 14.5 oz size of spicey diced can tomatoes with green chiles. The salt, garlic, and cumin combined with the other flavor as the pork and more sat in the fridge over night.

The next day, I set up the crock pot to cook for 7 hours. The only slight hiccup came when I asked my roommate to turn the crock pot to warm after 6 hours because I did the math wrong. An hour later, I texted my roommate back about turning the crock pot back on to make it to 7 hours. From then on smooth sailing!

Review:

Success! Even with the botched segments, it was very good and felt very filling. I don’t know if you need a side because by itself it is delicious. Seconds were taken again by those who enjoyed the dish!

The Nitty Gritty:
– Total cost: $8.00
– Total time: 8 hrs (if you have a peeler it will be much less)
– Serving size: 3 – 5

Leave a Reply

