Taco Bowls

My roommate found this AWESOME recipe, and we decided that we had to try it. Mind you, even the website labels it as an easy recipe. So I was pretty pumped when I made the recipe without any major mistakes! The coolest part came when the chicken seemed to melt “off the bone” in a bone-less chicken breast, much like the pulled pork from earlier on in the blog.

Recipe: 

Ingredients:

  • 1½ lbs. chicken breasts
  • 1 (16 oz.) jar salsa medium spice
  • 1 (15 oz.) can black beans, drained 
  • ½ lb. (8 oz.) frozen corn 
  • 1 Tbsp chili powder 
  • ½ Tbsp cumin 
  • ½ Tbsp minced garlic 
  • ½ tsp dried oregano 
  • ¼ tsp cayenne pepper 
  • ¼ tsp salt 
  • to taste cracked pepper 
  • 2 cups dry rice 
  • 8 oz. shredded cheddar 
  • ½ bunch cilantro (optional) 

Grocery shopping for this dish proved to be pretty minimal. I had all of the spices at home, cheese and rice from two weekends ago Mexican food night with my friends, so all that was left to buy was some cilantro, chicken and salsa. After talking with my roommate, we thought adding a medium spiced salsa would keep it within our newly acquired spice realm. (We both remained firm mild salsa eaters until recently when our other roommate inspired us to try spicing it up). Baisically, in no way could I screw up the shopping list.

When making the crock-pot (all of the ingredients except for the rice, cilantro and cheese), I somehow managed to miss read the amount of cumin needed. Now luckily I had yet to add anything else to the crock – pot, mostly because it bothers me when all of the spices do not go in at once, so I made the 1 tbsp of Cumin into 1/2 tbsp. I work during the day, and no one was gonna be home before the hours of 6, so mathematically, I couldn’t start the crock-pot when I normally take off the for the day, so I prepped the dish the night before. This allowed for the chicken to soak up the black beans, salsa, corn, and spice rub for about 8 hours before I started the crock-pot. 

At this point, all that was left to do was to turn on the crock-pot on low for 8 hrs. After 8 hrs, my roommate made some awesome rice (with a variety of brown and white, because we had both in the house), and then I made some homemade guacamole. (This provided to be a new experience for me as well, as I had always seen my mom made homemade guacamole or she had assisted me most of the time in my avocado creation. This turned to be a success as well, maybe I am an actual cook now?). 

Review:

Honestly, I CRUSHED this dish. Yes, it is voted as an easy level, but it was the first time I had no undoable uh-ohs. It feed 4 of us girls with left overs to spare, which I am pumped up to eat later! It was a solid dish, that I do wish had a bit more of kick to it. If I make it again, I will be adding spicy spicy salsa. Also, I would add it to chips and make nachos!

The Nitty Gritty:

  • Total Cost: $8.00
  • Total Time: 9 hrs with prep and cooking (this includes the fact that we made rice after the chicken was ready). 
  • Serving Size: 4 – 8 people (we had seconds, but still have left overs for at least 3 days). 
Leave a Reply

