Orange (Or more yellow) Chicken

This dish is my first failed attempt as my roommates say – the first time the crock pot food was unedible.

Orange chicken is a dish that I happen to enjoy very much, but the grocery shopping proved to be ablready challenging. First of all the recipe I decided to follow called for orange segments. I thought that perhaps this ment dried orange pieces, so I went to aisle labeled Asian Spices and looked for some dried orange segments. No dried orange segments were there (this is after 10 minutes of reading everything on the shelf). As it turns out, the segments did not need to be dried because the segments that the recipe was refering to were the segments of an orange. Then came the next question: does this include a rine or no? I decieded to go with no…this lead to a not so hot reciepe of orange, more like yellow, chicken.

Recipe:

Ingredients:

  • 3 medium peeled and 1/2 inch cut carrots
  • 2 green bell peppers 1/2 inch cut
  • 2 green onions
  • 3 garlic cloves minced
  • 1/2 teaspoon of salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon of pepper
  • 2 teaspoons of ginger
  • 4 chicken breasts cleaned and cut into 1/2 inch pieces
  • 8 oz of frozen orange concentration
  • 2 cups of orange segments

The prep of this dish happened pretty quickly and seemed to go off with out a problem until I read in the recipe about the frozen orange concentration. I was prepping this meal while I was at work (I am lucky enough to work in a place with a lovely kitchen), and realized I had forgotten to bring the frozen orange concentration. So as I had everything except for the garlic (because yes I had forgotten that as well – it was smooth, real smooth) and the frozen orange concentration, so every other ingredient sat in the crock pot in the fridge for 3 hours. And when I mean sat, I mean sat in the crock pot part that does not get hot in the fridge.

Once I got the other ingredients in (after being transported in the car and all strapped in), I then put the crock pot on high for 1 hour and then low for 2 hours. Next, I put it back on high for an hour. Perhaps this is why the dish turned out so poorly, but I doubt it. During this time I prepped the rice, which I didn’t burn, and it was time to eat.

Review:

Honestly, this was my first serious crash and burn. The dish lacked any flavor. The chicken was juicy, but other than that I really didn’t like the dish. And I was so frustrated, because I had followed the recipe to a tee. I have been told (and I know) that I can follow instructions very well, but for some reason this dish turned out horrible. I literally threw it out and made eggs to replace my dinner. Such a bummer!

The Nitty Gritty:

  • Total Cost: $20.00
  • Prep Time: 40 minutes
  • Total Time: 4 hours and 45 minutes
  • Serving size: 5 – 6 people
Leave a Reply

