Pesto Mozzarella Mashed Potatoes

So this is a recipe that was made on a complete whim and I received a lot of help from my logical roommate aka she advised me on every step because I was so nervous.

During Thanksgiving, ever since I could remember, our mother always made the kids bring something they made to the table. I was usually in charge of something that would be pretty hard to screw up like pumpkin bread or pumpkin pie or apple pie. My brother always made the mashed potatoes, so my experience mashed potatoes – non-existence. 

Pesto Mozzarella Mashed Potatoes:

Ingredients:

  • Pesto (1/4 of a cup – eye balled)
  • Mozzarella block (we eye balled about 2 1.5 in tall x 1.5 in wide x 0.5 in thick)
  • Milk (we estimated around 1/2 cup – but this was again eye balled by my roommate)
  • 1/8 cup of butter
  • 2 cubes of frozen garlic

After the Potato Skins (look at the post below), we had 12 potatoes insides left over to use. We had already baked the potatoes for an hour, so we decided to stick the potato insides into the crock pot with some pesto, butter, cubes of frozen garlic, and the cubes of mozzarella as we headed out to yoga. 

The best part of this whole story is that we never actually attended yoga, because my roommate misread the class schedule. Instead, we went grocery shopping for more food for the apartment. Instead of having the mashed potatoes sit on low for 3 hrs, we had the mashed potatoes sit on low for 2 hrs before bumping it up to high for 30 minutes. Upon first looking into the crock pot, we realized we may have been a bit (extremely) heavy handed with the mozzarella. So note – the less the better  – something I never thought I would say when it came to cheese. I love cheese. 

After being on high, my roommate told me we could finally add the milk. She had to explain to me (multiple times) that if we added the milk to early it may curdle. For some reason, I doubted her (and I still kinda do, so I may just make something with milk to see if it happens). However, as we added the fat free milk – the only healthy part of the meal – the mashed potatoes turned from a lumpy mess to a creamy milky way. 

Review:

Big hit with my friends slash we may or may not have finished the whole thing in one sitting (there were four of us, just to make myself feel better). 

The Nitty Gritty:

  • Total Cost: $0.00 – we used all left overs in the house
  • Prep Time: 10 minutes
  • Total time – 2 hrs and 45 minutes
  • Serving Size: 4 – 5 people 
Leave a Reply

