An Attempt at Pulled Pork

So – this is a recipe that since we have had a crock pot, I have wanted to attempt. However, my experience with pork is very limiting. In fact, I only started eating pork after living in Santiago, Chile my junior year of college.

My first attempt:

I was so excited about making pulled pork, that I just went to the store and bought some pork. Pork chops that is. After doing some research, I found that I bought the wrong piece of pork. Pulled pork does not come from pork chops but from either pork shoulder or pork butt. I also had bought barbeque sauce (a sweet one at that), and after looking at some recipes I found, that you were suppose to use more of a spice rub. Whoopsies!

My Second Attempt:

This time I bought the right kind of pork – a pork shoulder of 4 lbs. I kept the barbeque sauce, because honestly I liked it. So the ingredients I used were:

  • 4 lbs of pork shoulder
  • 1/2 of a medium white onion
  • 1 bottle of barbeque sauce (I used Sugar Ray’s Barbeque Sauce, but you don’t have to)
  • 4-5 dashes of garlic powder

After reading a lot of recipes about pulled pork, I was told to put onions on the bottom of the pot to ensure that the pork does not burn. So I lined the bottom with onions (which is not as easy as one would think because onions are curved and the bottom of the crock pot is relatively flat, so be prepared for some open spaces. I had taken it very literally and spent a good extra 5 minutes trying to figure out how to flatten every piece of onions so the bottom was covered. I gave up in frustration and then realized that the onions didn’t have to touch every part of the bottom of the crock pot.) and then I covered the pork shoulder in 1/4 of the barbeque sauce. I put the crock pot on low for 8 hours. I left the house during this time – The best part of cooking in a crock pot! After 8 hrs, I left the pork fall of the bone (I was and am pretty pumped that my pork came right off the bone – it was AWESOME!!), I added the rest of the barbeque sauce, put the pot on warm and then left it over night. In the end, I had pulled pork for days! It was really delicious and I had it with some mac and cheese and broccolini – a great addition to a great meal!

The Nitty Gritty:

  • Total Cost: $20.00 – Pork was the most expensive at $8.10
  • Prep Time: 10 minutes
  • Total time: 16 hrs – This depends on if you want to let it soak in the juices overnight
Leave a Reply

